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 State of Nevada  
Private Investigators Licensing Board 

400 W. King Street, Suite 101 3110 S. Durango Dr., Suite 203 
Carson City, NV 89703 Las Vegas, NV 89117 

Telephone: (775) 684-3125 Telephone: (702) 486-3003 
Fax: (775) 687-3226 Fax: (702) 486-3009 

http://pilb.nv.gov  Email: pilbinfo@pilb.nv.gov 

 

LICENSING INFORMATION FOR THE FOLLOWING BUSINESS CATEGORIES 
 

 Private Patrol Officer  

 Private Investigator 

 Repossessor 

 Dog Handler 

 Process Server 
 

 
Pursuant to NRS 648.060 no person may engage in the business or advertise his or her business as a private 
investigator, private patrol officer, process server, repossessor, dog handler, security consultant, or polygraphic 
examiner or intern unless the person is licensed pursuant to this chapter. 
 
REQUIREMENTS 
 

Before the Board grants any license, the applicant, including each director and officer of a corporate applicant, 
must: 
 Be at least 21 years of age. 
 Be a citizen of the United States or lawfully entitled to remain and work in the United States. 
 Be of good moral character and temperate habits. 
 Have not been convicted of:  

 A felony  
 Any crime involving moral turpitude or the illegal use or possession of a dangerous weapon 

 Undergo a criminal history background check through the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), the 
Nevada Department of Public Safety. 

 Pass an exam with a score of 75% or better (only for individual applicants and qualified agent applicants) 
 
EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS PER LICENSE TYPE 
 

Experience must be certified by your employer on the forms provided in the application. 
 

REPOSSESSOR 
 At least 5 years (2,000 hours each year, totaling 10,000 hours) experience as a repossessor, or the 

equivalent thereof, as determined by the Board. 
DOG HANDLER 

 Demonstrate to the satisfaction of the Board his or her ability to handle and train watchdogs 
PROCESS SERVER 

 At least 2 years (2,000 hours each year, totaling 4,000 hours) of process server experience, or the 
equivalent thereof, as determined by the Board. 
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PRIVATE PATROL OFFICER  

 At least 5 years (2,000 hours each year, totaling 10,000 hours) experience as a private patrol officer, 
or the equivalent thereof, as determined by the Board. 

 Credit may be given for an educational degree (see below), but not required.  
PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR 

 At least 5 years (2,000 hours each year, totaling 10,000 hours) experience as an investigator, or the 
equivalent thereof, as determined by the Board. 

 Credit may be given for an educational degree (see below), but not required.  
 

EDUCATIONAL DEGREE 
 The Board will grant credit toward the experience to an applicant for Private Investigator or Private 

Patrol Officer if they have an educational degree. Only an associate’s degree in Police Science or 
Criminal Justice is the equivalent of 8 months or 1,333 hours, and a Bachelor’s Degree in Police 
Science or Criminal Justice is the equivalent of 18 months or 3000 hours of experience. 

 
FEES 
Please note: In addition to the background fee(s) upon approval you will have an additional prorated licensing 
fee. Licenses are valid for one year beginning July 1st and are prorated by the month if received after July 1st.  
 
 Application Processing Fee –$20 per application (non-refundable) 
 Examination - $100 per category (non-refundable) 
 Abeyance Fee - $ 100.00 - per license (per year) 
 Background Investigation Deposit 

 An applicant shall deposit with the board at the time of making an initial application for any license 
a fee of $750 for the first category of license and $250 for each additional category of license for 
which application is made, which must be applied to the cost of conducting the investigation.  

 A corporate applicant or an individual applicant is liable for the entire cost of the investigation.  
EXAM  

 Upon completion of the application and receipt of all requested information, documents and monies, you 
will be notified of the exam date. 

 All licensees are required to take an exam. Exams are given every quarter  
 January, April, July, and October  

 Dog security handlers and trainers will be required to pass a field exam, which can be scheduled at any 
time.  

 
NRS 648.135  Licensing: Maintenance of insurance or acting as self-insurer; minimum limits of liability; 
proof. 
      1.  Before issuing any license or annual renewal thereof, the Board shall require satisfactory proof that the 
applicant or licensee: 
      (a) Is covered by a policy of insurance for protection against liability to third persons, with limits of liability in 
amounts not less than $200,000, written by an insurance company authorized to do business in this State; or 
      (b) Possesses and will continue to possess sufficient means to act as a self-insurer against that liability. 
      2.  Every licensee shall maintain the policy of insurance or self-insurance required by this section. The license 
of every such licensee is automatically suspended 10 days after receipt by the licensee of notice from the Board that 
the required insurance is not in effect, unless satisfactory proof of insurance is provided to the Board within that 
period. 
      3.  Proof of insurance or self-insurance must be in such a form as the Board may require. 
      (Added to NRS by 1973, 681; A 1985, 1339; 1987, 2137) 
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NRS 648.142  Licensing: Form, contents and posting of license; pocket cards; change of address; license not 
assignable. 
      1.  The license, when issued, shall be in such form as may be determined by the Board and shall include: 
      (a) The name of the licensee. 
      (b) The name under which the licensee is to operate. 
      (c) The number and date of the license. 
      (d) The expiration date of the license. 
      (e) If the licensee is a corporation, the name of the person or persons affiliated with the corporation on the     basis 
of whose qualifications such license is issued. 
      (f) The classification or classifications of work which the license authorizes. 
      2.  The license shall at all times be posted in a conspicuous place in the licensee’s principal place of business in 
this State. 
      3.  Upon the issuance of a license, a pocket card of such size, design and content as may be determined by the 
Board shall be issued without charge to each licensee, if an individual, or if the licensee is a person other than an 
individual, to its manager and to each of its officers, directors and partners, which card shall be evidence that the 
licensee is duly licensed pursuant to this chapter. When any person to whom a card is issued terminates his or her 
position, office or association with the licensee, the card shall be surrendered to the licensee and within 5 days 
thereafter shall be mailed or delivered by the licensee to the Board for cancellation. 
      4.  A licensee shall, within 30 days after such change, notify the Board of any and all changes of his or her 
address, of the name under which the licensee does business, and of any change in its officers, directors or partners. 
      5.  A license issued under this chapter is not assignable. 
      (Added to NRS by 1967, 1364; A 1973, 684; 2013, 1429) 

  NRS 648.144  Licensing: Expiration of licenses and pocket cards; renewals. A license issued under the 
provisions of this chapter and the cards issued pursuant to NRS 648.142 expire on June 30 of each year unless they 
are renewed. A licensee desiring a renewal of his or her license must file an application for renewal on or before 
June 30 on a form prescribed by the Board which is accompanied by the fee prescribed pursuant to NRS 648.120 
and all information required to complete the application for renewal. A renewal license for the next ensuing year 
must then be issued together with renewal cards for the persons described in subsection 3 of NRS 648.142. 
      (Added to NRS by 1967, 1364; A 1989, 1754; 1997, 2177; 2005, 2793, 2807; 2009, 1945) 

NRS 648.148  Licensing: Licensee to maintain principal place of business in this State; address of principal 
place of business to be filed with Board; advertising. 
      1.  Each licensee shall: 
      (a) Maintain a principal place of business in this State; and 
      (b) File with the Board the complete address of his or her principal place of business in this State, including the 
name and number of the street, or, if the street where the business is located is not numbered, the number of the post 
office box. The Board may require the filing of other information for the purpose of identifying such principal place 
of business. 
      2.  Every advertisement by a licensee soliciting or advertising business shall contain the licensee’s name and 
the number of the licensee’s license as they appear in the records of the Board.        
(Added to NRS by 1967, 1364; A 2013, 1429) 


