

Private Investigator's Licensing Board

704 W. Nye Lane, Suite 203 Carson City, NV 89703 Telephone: (775) 687-3223 Fax: (775) 687-3226 3110 S. Durango Drive, Suite 203 Las Vegas, Nevada 89117 Telephone: (702) 486-3003 Fax: (702)486-3009 E-mail: <u>PILBINFO@AG.NV.GOV</u>

WWW.NEVADAPIBOARD.ORG

LICENSING INFORMATION FOR POLYGRAPHIC EXAMINER

Pursuant to NRS 648.060 no person may engage in the business or advertise his or her business as a private investigator, private patrol officer, process server, repossessor, dog handler, security consultant, or polygraphic examiner or intern unless the person is licensed pursuant to this chapter.

NRS 648.0109 "Polygraphic examiner" and "examiner" defined. "Polygraphic examiner" or "examiner" means a person who by virtue of his or her education, training and experience, is capable of conducting a valid and reliable polygraphic examination.

REQUIREMENTS

Before the Board grants any license, the applicant, including each director and officer of a corporate applicant, must:

- ☑ Be at least 21 years of age.
- ☑ Be a citizen of the United States or lawfully entitled to remain and work in the United States.
- ✓ Be of good moral character and temperate habits.
- ☑ Have not been convicted of:
 - A felony
 - Any crime involving moral turpitude or the illegal use or possession of a dangerous weapon
- ☑ Undergo a criminal history background check through the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), the Nevada Department of Public Safety (DPS) and California Department of Justice (CDOJ) if you have lived in or ever visited the State of California
- ☑ Pass an exam with a score of 75% or better

EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS POLYGRAPHIC EXAMINER

☑ Received:

- A baccalaureate degree from an accredited college or university and have at least 1 years' experience in investigation or polygraphic examination satisfactory to the Board;
- An associate degree from an accredited college or university and have at least 3 years' experience; or
- A high school diploma or its equivalent and have at least 5 years' experience; and
- ☑ Satisfactorily completed a basic course of instruction in polygraphic techniques satisfactory to the Board.
- ☐ Have actively conducted polygraphic examinations for at least 2 years;

- Have completed successfully at least 250 polygraphic examinations, including at least 100 examinations concerning specific inquiries as distinguished from general examinations for the purpose of screening;
- ☑ Have completed successfully at least 50 polygraphic examinations, including 10 examinations concerning specific inquiries, during the 12 months immediately before the date of application; and
- Have completed successfully at least 24 hours of advanced polygraphic training acceptable to the Board during the 2 years immediately before the date of application.
- ✓ Meet other requirements as determined by the Board.

FEES

Please note: In addition to the background fee(s) upon approval you will have an additional prorated licensing fee. Licenses are valid for one year beginning July 1st and are prorated by the month if received after July 1st.

- ☑ Application Processing Fee –\$20 per application (non-refundable)
- **☑ Examination** \$100 per category (non-refundable)
- ✓ **Abeyance Fee** \$ 100.00 per license (per year)
- ☑ Annual License Renewal \$500.00 per license (per year)
- ☑ Initial licensing \$500 (pro-rated)
- ☑ Background Investigation Deposit
 - An applicant shall deposit with the board at the time of making an initial application for any license a fee of \$750 for the first category of license and \$250 for each additional category of license for which application is made, which must be applied to the cost of conducting the investigation.
 - An individual applicant who is a resident of Nevada is liable for the entire cost of the
 investigation up to a maximum cost of \$1,500 for the first category of license and \$500 for each
 additional category of license for which application is made.
 - A corporate applicant or an individual applicant who is not a resident of Nevada is liable for the entire cost of the investigation. The same applies for corporate applicants; however, there is no cap on the cost of the investigation.

NRS 648.100 Licensing: Examinations; investigation of applicants; grounds for refusing to grant.

- 1. The Board shall require an applicant to pass a written examination for an initial license and may require an applicant to pass an oral examination. Examinations must be given at least four times a year.
- 2. The Board shall conduct such investigation of an applicant, including the directors and officers of a corporate applicant, as it considers necessary. An applicant shall deposit with the Board at the time of making an initial application for any license a fee of \$750 for the first category of license and \$250 for each additional category of license for which application is made, which must be applied to the cost of conducting the investigation. An individual applicant who is a resident of Nevada is liable for the entire cost of the investigation up to a maximum cost of \$1,500 for the first category of license and \$500 for each additional category of license for which application is made. A corporate applicant or an individual applicant who is not a resident of Nevada is liable for the entire cost of the investigation. Each applicant must pay the entire fee for which he or she is liable before taking an examination.
 - 3. The Board may refuse to grant a license if it determines that the applicant has:
- (a) Committed any act which if committed by a licensee would be a ground for the suspension or revocation of a license under this chapter.
 - (b) Committed any act constituting dishonesty or fraud.
 - (c) Demonstrated untruthfulness or a lack of integrity.

- (d) Been refused a license under this chapter or had a license revoked.
- (e) Been an officer, director, partner or manager of any firm, partnership, association or corporation which has been refused a license under this chapter or whose license has been revoked.
 - (f) While unlicensed, performed any act for which a license is required by this chapter.
 - (g) Knowingly made any false statement in the application.
 - (h) Refused to provide any information required by the Board.
- 4. The Board shall provide the applicant with a copy of the report of the investigation within a reasonable time after it receives the completed report.

[8:85:1947; A 1953, 323]—(NRS A 1967, 1360; 1973, 683; 1983, 1602; 1985, 24, 1337; 1987, 2137)

NRS 648.115 Licensing: Person licensed in another state. The Board may issue a license to any person who is licensed as a polygraphic examiner in another state if:

- 1. The requirements for the license in that jurisdiction at the time the license was issued are deemed by the Board to be equivalent to the requirements for a license in this State;
 - 2. The jurisdiction extends the same privileges to a person licensed in this State; and
 - 3. The person submits the application and undergoes the investigation required for licensing. (Added to NRS by 1985, 1329)

NAC 648.400 Licensing on basis of reciprocity. (NRS 648.030, 648.115)

- 1. An applicant who seeks to have the Board issue him or her a polygraphic examiner's license on the basis of reciprocity must designate in the application the primary jurisdiction in which the applicant has been issued such a license.
 - 2. As used in this section, "primary jurisdiction" means the jurisdiction in which the applicant:
- (a) Obtained such a license by meeting the jurisdiction's substantive standards for the licensing and not by means of his or her prior licensing in some other jurisdiction; and
 - (b) Holds such a license and is in good standing.
- 3. The application must be accompanied with evidence that the applicant met the standards and requirements of the primary jurisdiction. Copies of materials contained in the licensing file of the primary jurisdiction may be used to satisfy this requirement.
 - 4. In addition, the applicant must:
- (a) Demonstrate that the licensing requirements of the primary jurisdiction at the time the applicant's license was issued were equivalent to the licensing requirements in force in this State. The applicant may so demonstrate by providing the Board with:
- (1) All applicable statutes and regulations regarding the licensing of polygraphic examiners in the primary jurisdiction; and
- (2) Any other information provided by that jurisdiction concerning its standards for licensing, including its examinations; and
- (b) Unless the Board already has such a letter, obtain from that jurisdiction a letter stating that persons who are licensed in Nevada may obtain licenses by reciprocity in that jurisdiction.

(Added to NAC by Priv. Investigator's Lic. Bd., eff. 12-28-83)—(Substituted in revision for NAC 648A.090)

NAC 648.365 Standards of accuracy and reliability of instruments. (NRS 648.030, 648.185)

- 1. Each polygraphic instrument must meet the following minimum standards of accuracy and reliability:
- (a) Components of polygraphic instruments used to record respiration must, when the system is closed, be capable of:
- (1) Consistently producing a range of movement of the recording pen of not less than 1 inch nor more than 1 1/2 inches when the pneumograph is extended 1/4 inch; and
 - (2) Showing no perceptible loss of pressure during a period of 3 minutes.

- (b) Components of polygraphic instruments used to record cardiovascular activity must, when closed and pressurized to 90 millimeters of mercury, be capable of:
- (1) Consistently producing a range of movement of the recording pen of not less than 1 inch nor more than 1 1/2 inches when the pressure in the system is increased 2 millimeters of mercury; and
 - (2) Showing a loss of pressure of not more than 1 millimeter of mercury during a period of 3 minutes.
- (c) Components of polygraphic instruments used to record changes in skin resistance shall, when in the "manual mode," be capable of consistently producing a range of movement of the recording pen of not less than 1 inch when 1,000 ohm is introduced into the circuit and the component is set at maximum sensitivity, or when 5,000 ohm is introduced into the circuit and the component is set at 25 percent of maximum sensitivity.
- 2. A polygraphic examiner shall verify that a polygraphic instrument meets these standards at least once during each 30 days the instrument is in use and shall maintain a record of that verification.

(Added to NAC by Priv. Investigator's Lic. Bd., eff. 11-13-85)

NAC 648.370 Interns: Qualifications of supervising examiner. (NRS 648.030)

- 1. An applicant for licensure as an intern in polygraphic examination must submit to the Board the name of the examiner who has agreed to supervise the applicant's activities during the internship.
 - 2. The supervising examiner must be a person:
 - (a) Who is licensed or certified by the Board as a polygraphic examiner; and
- (b) Whom the Board determines, after considering the examiner's other responsibilities and his or her proximity to the intern, to be able to provide adequate supervision of the intern's polygraphic activities.

(Added to NAC by Priv. Investigator's Lic. Bd., eff. 12-28-83)—(Substituted in revision for NAC 648A.030)

NAC 648.375 Interns: Phases of supervision; responsibility of supervising examiner. (NRS 648.030)

- 1. An internship in polygraphic examination consists of the following phases of supervision:
- (a) During the first 3 months of the internship, the supervising examiner shall directly and personally supervise and review all polygraphic activities of the intern.
- (b) During the fourth to the sixth month, inclusive, of the internship, the supervising examiner shall directly and personally supervise and review the polygraphic activities of the intern at least once a week.
- (c) During the seventh to the twelfth month, inclusive, of the internship, the supervising examiner shall directly and personally supervise and review the polygraphic activities of the intern at least once every 2 weeks.
- (d) During the remainder of the internship, the supervising examiner shall review and supervise the polygraphic activities of the intern to the extent that supervision and review are appropriate.
- 2. In addition to fulfilling the requirements set forth in subsection 1, the supervising examiner shall directly and personally supervise all the intern's polygraphic activities until the intern has successfully completed at least 25 polygraphic examinations.
- 3. During the entire period of the internship, the supervising examiner is responsible for all the polygraph activities of the intern.

(Added to NAC by Priv. Investigator's Lic. Bd., eff. 12-28-83)—(Substituted in revision for NAC 648A.040)

NAC 648.380 Reports of intern's progress. (NRS 648.030)

- 1. Each supervising examiner shall prepare and submit to the Board quarterly reports of the progress of the intern during the first year of the internship. The quarterly reports must be made on a form provided by the Board. Each quarterly report must be delivered to the Executive Director no later than 2 weeks before the regularly scheduled meeting of the Board for the quarter in which the report is due.
- 2. If the Board requests the supervising examiner to do so, he or she shall submit semiannual reports of the intern's progress during the remaining 2 years of the internship.

3. Upon the Board's request, the supervising examiner and the intern shall furnish it with charts, logs and other documents showing the polygraphic examinations performed by the intern. The Board will maintain in strict confidentiality the identities of the persons examined. All such documents furnished to the Board will be returned to the supervising examiner.

(Added to NAC by Priv. Investigator's Lic. Bd., eff. 12-28-83; A 4-22-93)

NAC 648.385 Supervising examiners: List of interns; termination of relationship; termination of status. (NRS 648.030)

- 1. A supervising examiner shall keep on file with the Board a current list containing the names of all the interns under his or her supervision.
- 2. Either an intern or the intern's supervising examiner may terminate their relationship by notifying the Board of the termination. The supervising examiner shall then prepare a document containing an evaluation of each phase of the polygraphic activities of the intern and furnish the document to the succeeding supervising examiner, if any, and to the Board.
- 3. Any failure of a supervising examiner to comply with the provisions in this chapter governing internships constitutes a ground for the Board to terminate his or her status as a supervising examiner.

(Added to NAC by Priv. Investigator's Lic. Bd., eff. 12-28-83)—(Substituted in revision for NAC 648A.060)

NAC 648.390 Demonstration of completion of internship. (NRS 648.030, 648.110) An applicant for a polygraphic examiner's license who has been conducting polygraphic examinations in this State under an intern's license issued by the Board must demonstrate that he or she has participated in and completed the program of internship in accordance with NAC 648.370, 648.375 and 648.380.

(Added to NAC by Priv. Investigator's Lic. Bd., eff. 12-28-83)—(Substituted in revision for NAC 648A.070)

NAC 648.395 Licensing: Required instruction. (NRS 648.030, 648.110) An applicant for an intern's license or a polygraphic examiner's license must:

- 1. Provide the Board evidence that the applicant has successfully completed a basic course of instruction in polygraphic examination which was given by a school certified by the American Polygraph Association; or
 - 2. Demonstrate to the Board that the applicant has successfully completed an equivalent course. (Added to NAC by Priv. Investigator's Lic. Bd., eff. 12-28-83)—(Substituted in revision for NAC 648A.080)

NRS 648.135 Licensing: Maintenance of insurance or acting as self-insurer; minimum limits of liability; proof.

- 1. Before issuing any license or annual renewal thereof, the Board shall require satisfactory proof that the applicant or licensee:
- (a) Is covered by a policy of insurance for protection against liability to third persons, with limits of liability in amounts not less than \$200,000, written by an insurance company authorized to do business in this State; or
 - (b) Possesses and will continue to possess sufficient means to act as a self-insurer against that liability.
- 2. Every licensee shall maintain the policy of insurance or self-insurance required by this section. The license of every such licensee is automatically suspended 10 days after receipt by the licensee of notice from the Board that the required insurance is not in effect, unless satisfactory proof of insurance is provided to the Board within that period.
 - 3. Proof of insurance or self-insurance must be in such a form as the Board may require. (Added to NRS by 1973, 681; A 1985, 1339; 1987, 2137)

NRS 648.142 Licensing: Form, contents and posting of license; pocket cards; change of address; license not assignable.

- 1. The license, when issued, shall be in such form as may be determined by the Board and shall include:
- (a) The name of the licensee.
- (b) The name under which the licensee is to operate.
- (c) The number and date of the license.
- (d) The expiration date of the license.
- (e) If the licensee is a corporation, the name of the person or persons affiliated with the corporation on the basis of whose qualifications such license is issued.
 - (f) The classification or classifications of work which the license authorizes.
- 2. The license shall at all times be posted in a conspicuous place in the licensee's principal place of business in this State.
- 3. Upon the issuance of a license, a pocket card of such size, design and content as may be determined by the Board shall be issued without charge to each licensee, if an individual, or if the licensee is a person other than an individual, to its manager and to each of its officers, directors and partners, which card shall be evidence that the licensee is duly licensed pursuant to this chapter. When any person to whom a card is issued terminates his or her position, office or association with the licensee, the card shall be surrendered to the licensee and within 5 days thereafter shall be mailed or delivered by the licensee to the Board for cancellation.
- 4. A licensee shall, within 30 days after such change, notify the Board of any and all changes of his or her address, of the name under which the licensee does business, and of any change in its officers, directors or partners.
 - 5. A license issued under this chapter is not assignable. (Added to NRS by 1967, 1364; A 1973, 684; 2013, 1429)

NRS 648.144 Licensing: Expiration of licenses and pocket cards; renewals. A license issued under the provisions of this chapter and the cards issued pursuant to NRS 648.142 expire on June 30 of each year unless they are renewed. A licensee desiring a renewal of his or her license must file an application for renewal on or before June 30 on a form prescribed by the Board which is accompanied by the fee prescribed pursuant to NRS 648.120 and all information required to complete the application for renewal. A renewal license for the next ensuing year must then be issued together with renewal cards for the persons described in subsection 3 of NRS 648.142.

(Added to NRS by 1967, 1364; A 1989, 1754; 1997, 2177; 2005, 2793, 2807; 2009, 1945)

NRS 648.148 Licensing: Licensee to maintain principal place of business in this State; address of principal place of business to be filed with Board; advertising.

- 1. Each licensee shall:
- (a) Maintain a principal place of business in this State; and
- (b) File with the Board the complete address of his or her principal place of business in this State, including the name and number of the street, or, if the street where the business is located is not numbered, the number of the post office box. The Board may require the filing of other information for the purpose of identifying such principal place of business.
- 2. Every advertisement by a licensee soliciting or advertising business shall contain the licensee's name and the number of the licensee's license as they appear in the records of the Board. (Added to NRS by 1967, 1364; A 2013, 1429)