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Message from the Director

Congratulations on receiving your license(s) with us. To aid in your success here in Nevada, we
have created this license booklet to provide you the most important information as you begin
to establish yourself in our state. Please understand that in addition to the laws and
regulations covered in this booklet, you are responsible to follow all laws and regulations
established in Chapter 648 of the Nevada Revised Statutes and the Nevada Administrative
Code.

Mission Statement

The purpose of the Private Investigators Licensing Board is to license private
investigators, private patrolmen, process servers, repossessors, dog handlers, security
consultants, polygraphic examiners and interns. Chapter 648 of Nevada Revised Statutes
mandates the Board to regulate the standards of conduct for these professions in order
to protect the public safety and general welfare of the people of this state. This agency is
responsible for conducting background investigations on applicants, administering
compliance audits of licensees, preparing disciplinary matters for Board review and
investigating various complaints of misconduct of a licensee or unlicensed activity. This
agency is pro-active in promoting effective reqgulation and enforcement; provides
training and education to our licensees as well as the general public; and is focused on
eliminating unlicensed activity.

The courts have determined a professional license is a privilege, not a right. Violations of
Nevada Revised Statutes, Chapter 648 may result in the denial of a renewal, fines, and the
suspension or revocation of a license. A person who is knowledgeable in the law is less likely
to violate the law. This booklet is provided to educate you on the laws regulating the practice
of your profession(s).

| hope you will find it helpful.
Cordially,
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Vincent Saladino
Executive Director



This License Booklet provides the following explanation of Nevada law to assist license holders
in understanding the requirements and prohibitions of the Nevada Revised Statutes and
Nevada Administrative Codes; however, this handout does not contain the complete law.
Nevada’s statutory guidelines and principles are primarily found in Chapter 648 of the Nevada
Revised Statutes (NRS) and the Nevada Administrative Code (NAC).

LICENSE HOLDER REQUIRMENTS

After the Board approves a license, license holders must comply with all statutory and

regulatory prerequisites for the license(s) within 90-days: 3
Insured ’ 4
Yes E]

Proof of Insurance (NRS 648.135) Hic D
As a license holder, you must provide a current Certificate of General Liability Insurance
for all services provided under your license(s) in at least the statutory amount required
of a $200,000 minimum and indicate the Private Investigators Licensing Board as a
Certificate Holder.

Additionally, as a new licensee, you are responsible for providing the Board with an
updated Certificate of Insurance every time your insurance policy renews to ensure
there has not been any lapses in coverage. Proof of Insurance Certificates may be
submitted at your local office or through other regular communication.

Compliance with Prerequisites for License (NAC 648.320)

In addition to the proof of insurance, you must remit payment for the pro-rated
licensing fee(s) prior to the license being issued.

Rights of Licensees (NRS 648.140)

Now that you are licensed, you, or any of your bona fide employees, may now engage in
specific business as authorized under your license.

You may employ, in connection with your approved business license, as many registered
employees as necessary. Each individual license holder or the Qualifying Agent (QA)
must be present in Nevada to supervise, monitor and maintain each registered
employee that is working in Nevada and his or her employee records. Employee records
and industry conduct is a key aspect of maintaining licensure. As a license holder, you
are responsible for the good conduct of your employees and staff members.
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If you have staff employed in Nevada, you must maintain employment records at a
location in Nevada. Upon request, you must provide the Board any information
regarding each registered employee(s). You are also responsible for maintaining an
accurate and up-to-date employee roster. You have 3 days to update your employee
roster when they begin work, once they are terminated or when their registered work
card expires. Our office staff monitor these rosters.

Principal place of business (NRS 648.148)

You must maintain a principal place of business and provide the Board the complete
address. A change of address must be provided to the Board within 30 days of the

change. ' ' '

Use of Home as Place of Business (NAC 648.500)

e

Choosing your official place of business is extremely important. You are are not permltted
to use your home as a principal place of business if any local ordinance prohibits such
activity. If you are choosing a home-based business, check your local city and county
ordinances to ensure compliance.

Branch office(s) (NRS 648.149)

You must notify the Board in writing of any new branch office location(s) and must
include the address and contact information (e.g., name of branch manager, phone
number, email address, etc.). There is an annual fee of $50.00 per branch office. You
must also notify the Board in writing within 10 days when a branch office, closes or
changes its location. e

( WELCOME
TO

Nevada

\THE SILVER STATE/

Use of License Number (NAC 648.525)

All advertisements, written communication and other related business materials MUST
include your new license number. This includes but is not limited to emails, letterhead,
websites, business cards, ads, trade booths, brochures, social media accounts and
marked vehicles, etc. We strictly enforce this regulation. Violations may result in
citations and fines. Please include your new license number on all official
correspondence and other media. We recommend the format NV PILB LICH _ _



Holding a License in Abeyance (NAC 648.330)

You must place your individual license in abeyance if you become the qualifying agent of
a corporation and must refrain from engaging in licensed activities independent of your
status as qualifying agent. You must also place your individual license in abeyance
and/or relinquish your qualifying agent status if you become employed as a Peace
Officer in any state.

You may voluntarily place your individual and/or company license in abeyance, however
it may not exceed 3 consecutive years from the time of the request.

Should you wish to take your license out of abeyance, you must submit the request in
writing to include the effective date of reactivation, pay the Board a $100.00 fee, pay
the pro-rated licensing fee for the current year and provide proof of insurance.

Operation of Corporation Without a Qualifying Agent (NAC 648.520, NRS 648.012, NRS
648.013, NRS 648.014, NRS 648.015)

If a corporation loses its qualifying agent, the corporation may continue its operations
for no more than 120 days. Within this timeframe, the corporation must submit an
application for a new qualifying agent. If the candidate is currently licensed in Nevada, a
change of status application must be submitted. If the candidate is not currently
licensed in Nevada, a complete licensing application packet must be submitted.

Notification to the Board of All Changes of Address or Other Information (NRS 648.142)

®

Within 30 days after such change, you must notify the Board in writing of any and all
changes of:

e Address, phone number, email address etc.
e Changes in its officers, members, or directors (to include effective date of such
change)

uvéa’ﬂ; e Addition of, or change to, fictitious firm name (DBA) that is currently filed with

the City or County
e Name under which the licensee does business (e.g., John Smith vs. Smith Corp)

Please note, any changes in licensing status requires the approval of the Board.
Therefore, a change of status application must be submitted within a reasonable
timeframe (typically within 30 days).



LICENSE RENEWAL

Licenses Must Be Renewed Even if the License Holder Does Not Receive Notification From
Our Office (NRS 648.120, NRS 648.144, NRS 648.146)

All licenses are valid for 1 year unless they are suspended or revoked. The license cycle is July
1 through June 30 of each year. You have the responsibility to renew your license(s) in a
timely manner. This requires you to complete the renewal process no later than June 30 of
each year. Failure to renew on time will result in a $100 late fee per license as long as the
renewals are paid no later than July 31. Failure to renew by July 31 will result in the license(s)
expiring and denial of renewal. License renewal payments may be made online or at either
office location with standard credit card options: Visa, MasterCard, Debit, Money Order or
Cashier’s Check. Our offices do not accept cash as a method of payment.

SETTING UP ONLINE ACCESS

You may set up online access through our website at http://pilb.nv.gov/ by clicking on the

“ONLINE PORTAL”. Please print and read the instructions carefully on “How to Create and
Account” and “How to Manage Your Roster”.

Agencies Jobs About Mevada

NV*®

State of Nevada

| Private Investigators Custom Sear =
. . () search This Site ) Search All Sites
LIO‘I‘ISII‘IQ Board ADA complaints -

ON-LINE LICENSE & WORK CARD PORTAL

License Portal Login to Portal

INSTRUCTIONS: Ifthis is your frst ime visiting this site, fully read
the instructions provided below. After you have logged in, select ~ — =04l
the “My Companies” tab to manage your staff roster.

NOTE: “Pop-ups” must be enabled to navigate the portal.

= How to Create an Account &
= How to Manage Your Rosterg
= How to Renew Your License &



http://pilb.nv.gov/

USE OF STATE SEAL PROHIBITED (NRS 235.010)

You may not use the State of Nevada Seal on any badges, patches, credentials, identification
cards, correspondence, advertisements, business cards, or any other means of identification
used in connection with your business.

UNIFORMS AND VEHICLES (NAC 648.525)

We require pre-approval of all uniforms, logos, badges, patches and marked vehicles
associated with your company. All company designs must be approved through an official
request. Requests must be submitted via email to the Licensing Specialist.

The following information must be included in the request:

Company Name and License Number

Qualifying Agent or Corporate Officer/Member contact information (name, address,
phone number, email address)

Complete uniform and/or mockup must be include: Full Length photos of front, back,
and sides, proposed lettering and location of the lettering and/or logo(s) of your
uniform. Please include a description of the colors, as not all colors show up well in a
photo (e.g., navy vs. black)

Up-close color photos of all Patches, Badges, and/or Logos

If your company uses or will use marked vehicles; all photos, mockups, logos,
lettering and vehicle wraps designs requested must be submitted as well. (License
numbers must be placed on each side of the vehicle as well as the back.)

If the required information listed above is not submitted to the Licensing Specialist in a
complete package, your request and approval may be delayed.

The Licensing Specialist will review your request for completeness and forward it to the
Executive Director for final review and approval.

Lastly, you may not use a uniform, badge, patch the same as, or deceptively similar to those
used by other licensee or law enforcement agency, any law enforcement gear and/or any star-

shaped badges or patches.




WORK CARDS

You are responsible for ensuring all of your employees have registered work cards and if
applicable, firearm certification. Additionally, you must ensure that your employees’
registered work cards are renewed prior to the expiration date. The registered work card is
authorized for use statewide and valid for a period of 5 years. After the 5 year registration
period expires, a full application packet, including all supporting documents, must be
submitted again for renewal.

Work Card Application Requirements:

Applicants must be 18 years of age, a US Citizen or lawfully entitled to remain and work in the
United States and possess a valid United States Social Security Card. Please refer to the United
States Citizen and Immigration Services Form |-9 available on our website for a complete list of
documents required. Proof of identification, employment authorization along with a criminal
history background check will determine eligibility for employment pursuant to Nevada
Revised Statutes Chapter 648.

All applicants are required to provide:

e Photo (2x2 inch color “passport-sized” photo)

e 2 Authorized forms of identification

e A complete set of fingerprints (Fingerprint Electronic Receipt Form or a Fingerprint Card
(FD-258)

e Ascore of 100% on the Security Guard Exam. Per Nevada statutes, there is an exam
requirement for any registered applicant who will be or is working for a licensed Private

Patrolman Operator (PPO).
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All applicants are required to provide a complete application including the above information
within 30 days or their application will be withdrawn from processing. An application that is
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withdrawn from processing will interrupt and delay the applicant from acquiring all necessary
credentials for employment and the applicant will not receive a refund. If an applicant wishes
to proceed with processing after this 30-day lapse, they are required to complete a new
application, re-submit and pay the original registration fees once again.

Once an application is processed it may be temporarily approved allowing the employee to
begin employment. Initially, the employee is eligible to work and/or receive training and
placed into “Provisional Status”. The issuance of a provisional registration does not guarantee
the issuance of a permanent work card. An applicant placed into provisional status indicates
an application has been approved and the permanent work card is contingent upon successful
completion of the fingerprint check through the Nevada Criminal History Repository and the
Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI).

Finally, all approved work card holders must have a copy of their provisional registration along
with a valid ID or an approved Registered Work Card on their person at all times while in the
performance of their duties.

Example of a Provisional Work Card

_cath _messy
Registered Numbser: B-2024-80000
Proviziomal Registration Expires: 7222024
cash _momey Current Emploverith
Begictered Number: B 200008008

Apphcation Staus Provisioml
Provassnsl [sons Diste: IR
Provisonal Expsation Date: 7220004
Exam Taken VM0
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firesmrint criminal Fesiory check through T Nevada Criminal Repostony and thas FBI 1 something
comes back on your background that wousd preciude you fom Seing regisiemd you will be nptfed
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Example of Registered Work Card

FRONT BACK
STATE OF NEVADA _ THIS REGISTRATION CARD IS
PRIVATE INVESTIGATORS ISSUED PURSUANT TO NRS 648.060.
LICENSING BOARD IF FOUND PLEASE RETURN TO:
STATE OF NEVADA, PRIVATE
INVESTIGATORS LICENSING BOARD,
% 3110 S. DURANGO DRIVE, SUITE 203,
O LAS VEGAS, NV 89117
> C
(@] =
Z 5
1 =<
> m
< x
S _CASH_MONEY =
R-2024-00000
Expires: 4/23/2029
ARMED *
REGISTERED EMPLOYEE
Vincent Saladino A .
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Lo A

Work Card Denials

An applicant may be denied their work card for several reasons. Applicants may be denied
based upon problematic personal conduct or character, moral turpitude or temperate habits.
An adverse criminal history and/or failing to disclose or falsifying information on application
are also key factors utilized in determining a work card denial. Applicants having felony or
dangerous weapon convictions will be denied, however they may request an appeal hearing
before the Board. The appeals are scheduled for the next regularly scheduled Board meeting
and the Board will decide on upholding the denial or overturning the denial and granting a
registered work card.

Processing Timeframes

Once we receive all required documents and application fees, it typically takes approximately
10 calendar days for a work card applicant to cleared and placed in provisional status.
Applicants may choose to expedite their applications to decrease return times, however, these
times may vary based on seasonal demands.

There are periods of increased application processing activity. Throughout the year, event
schedules and events Statewide increase which also brings an increase in application
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submissions. During the spring months, an abundance of music festivals occur in the City of
Las Vegas and the demand for security professionals increases also.

NOTIFYING THE BOARD WHEN HIRED/TERMINATED (NRS 648.140)

Licensees are required to update their employee online roster within 3 days after employees
start working, when you terminate them or when their work card expires. Should the
employee break service prior to the 3 days, you must still add them to your roster and then
terminate them to create an accurate history of their employment with you.

“ARMED” REGISTERED WORK CARDS

Your employee may not worked armed until they have been issued a permanent armed work
card.

e You will need to send the employee to the firearms course that is conducted by an
instructor certified by the Board.

e Once the employee has qualified, a certification of completion will be submitted to our
office by the certified firearm instructor.

e The Board will issue a new armed registered work card to the employee and once the
new card is received you may work them in an armed capacity.

PEACE OFFICER STATUS/PUBLIC EMPLOYEE RETIREMENT SYSTEM (PERS)

Registration may be denied if the applicant’s current occupation may have or is perceived to
have an ethical or legal conflict of interest. However, Nevada law permits the Board to grant
exemptions for those individuals on a case-by-case basis. The prohibitions of employment are
as follows:

e A Peace Officer
e Federal, state, or local law enforcement agency
e A position which contributes to PERS

Exemptions
An exemption may be requested by you, the license holder, by providing a letter to the %2,
Executive Director, and must include the following information:
e The Request for must be written on Agency letterhead
e An authorized Manager, Director, Principal or Human Resources designee must sign the
Request for Exemption
e The Request for Exemption must include descriptions and/or explanations refuting any
potential conflicts of interest

e The Request for Exemption must include a complete list of applicant’s current job
description(s)
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The Board will review the letter and schedule the employer and applicant to appear before the
Board. The Board will make the final determination.

FIREARM AND Training Requirements (NRS 648.030)

The Board has provided an enforceable minimum curriculum, which addresses the teaching of
carrying, handling and using handguns safely. A Certified Firearm Instructor (CFl) administers
the firearms training requirements for all applicants. All registered firearms applicants must
take a two-day educational course. This two-day course is divided into eight hours of
classroom instruction and five hours of firearms range training.

The individual must be in “Active” status to be eligible to take the firearm course. Once an
individual successfully completes the two-day firearms course, the Certified Firearms
Instructor (CFl) files the appropriate paperwork with the Board. Upon receiving the
certification paperwork, the Board will issue the individual their Firearm Certification.

This certification is good for 5 years, as long as the individual re-qualifies two times a year on
their specific re-qualification dates. This requirement to be in armed status is not location or
“post” specific. The armed status only allows a person to carry the firearm on the outside of
their uniform or jacket. It does not allow anyone to carry a concealed firearm. Staff required
to carry a firearm concealed (Executive Protection), must also be in possession of a Concealed
Carry Weapons Permit (CCW). HR-218 permits do not allow an individual to carry concealed
while employed. These permits are only for an individual to carry concealed for their own
personal protection and not in the protection of property or persons.

Firearm Class

The Private Investigators Licensing Board’s Firearms course is restricted to Active Licensees
and Active Registered Employees. Prior to attending the firearms course, the employee must
be added to the Employer’s roster. CFI’s who allow individuals to attend this course without
active status may be brought before the Board for disciplinary violations.

Verification of Employment (VEAS) Document for Armed Security

A Verification of Employment of Armed Security must be provided to the CFl for each person.
You must sign the document (VEAS FORM) and confirm the individual’s personal information
for completeness. The individual must be on your roster to verify authenticity. The employee
will take the completed and signed form to a Certified Firearm Instructor for the training. Only
original documents will be accepted by CFI’s conducting training, no photocopies are allowed.
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Initial Firearm Qualification

Once an employee has successfully completed the training class and the Board has received
the documentation from the CFl indicating the employee is qualified to carry a firearm on
duty, a new Registered “Armed” Work Card will be created and issued to the employee.

Firearm Qualification/Requalification

The initial qualification also establishes the persons re-qualification months. Example: if a
person takes the initial class in January, the next re-qualification month will be July. The
employee’s firearm certificate is valid as long as they re-qualify every six months in their
designated qualification months. The firearm certificate is valid for five years, as long the
employee meets these requirements.

Requalification months are established in NAC 648.350. These months are displayed 6 months
apart, such as “Jan/July”. These are printed on the work card and once established will not
change. The armed status is an individual credential that is not transferable. In other words,
the credential stays with the individual regardless of his/her employment status. If he or she is
hired by another licensee, the requalification months do not change. Re-certification,

regardless of when taken, will not change the re-qualification months. Following is an example
from the NAC:

Initial course month Designated qualification months

January or July January and July

February or August February and August m

aseo08ee

March or September March and September g
April or October April and October RRens
May or November May and November

June or December June and December

Re-qualification required to work armed

There is no grace period once the firearms certification expires. This will be the last day of the
month on your qualification months. As the license holder, you are responsible for ensuring
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employees are up to date on their qualifications. Once the individual re-qualifies, the CFI will
submit the paperwork to the Board. Upon approval of the Board, the certification will be
extended.

If the individual does not re-qualify during the months assigned, the Firearms Certification is
not valid and the individual cannot carry a firearm while on duty. Once the individual’s re-
qualification is brought up to date, the certification is extended to the next assigned
qualification month regardless of the amount of time left during the qualification period.

DISCIPLINARY ACTION

The Board may discipline any licensee for any of the following causes:

e Conviction of a felony or any offense involving moral turpitude

e Violation of any of the provisions of NRS Chapter 648

e Any false statement by the licensee that any person is or has been in his or her employ

e Unprofessional conduct of the licensee or any of his/her employees

e False statement/information regarding an application for a license or its renewal or
reinstatement

e Any actin the course of the licensees business that constitutes dishonesty or fraud

e Impersonation or aiding and abetting an employee in the impersonation of a law
enforcement official at the local, state of federal level

e Failing to renew license in a timely fashion or other acts constituting the suspension,
revocation or denial of an application for license

e Willful failure or refusal to render client services in conjunction with contractual
obligations

e Commission of Assault, Battery or Kidnapping

e Knowingly violating of any court order or injunction in the course of business as a
licensee

e Any act which is grounds for denial of an application for a license under this chapter

e Willfully aiding and abetting a person in violation of any provision of this chapter

e A Private Investigator licensed pursuant to this chapter shall not obtain or seek access to
information from the DMV for any purpose other than its direct relation to an insurance
claim. If the Board finds that a violation of this section has occurred, the Board shall
suspend his/her license
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Grounds for Registered Work Card Revocation NRS 648.156

The Board may revoke the registration of a registered employee if the Board finds, after a
hearing conducted (NRS 648.166/NRS 648.170) that the registered employee:

e Failed to disclose any fact, misstated, or otherwise misled the Board with respect to any
fact contained in any application for the issuance or renewal of a registration

e Commits, attempts or conspires to commit any act prohibited by this chapter on or after
the date on which the Board issues a registration

e Is convicted of, or enters a plea of nolo contendere to a felony or any crime involving
moral turpitude or the illegal use/possession of a dangerous weapon

Suspension for Improper use of DMV Information NRS 648.157

Suspension of license of private investigator who obtains/seeks access to certain information
from Department of Motor Vehicles for improper purpose

e A private investigator licensed pursuant to this chapter shall not obtain/seek access to
information from the DMV for any purpose other than its direct relation to an insurance
claim

e |f the Board finds that a violation of this section has occurred, the Board shall suspend
his/her license

Suspension of License/ Failure to Pay Child Support NRS 648.158

If the Board receives a copy of a court order issued pursuant to NRS 425.540 that provides for
the suspension of all professional, occupational and recreational licenses, certificates and
permits issued to a person who is the holder of a license or registration issued pursuant to this
chapter, the Board shall deem the license or registration issued to that person to be
suspended at the end of the 30th day after the date on which the court order was issued to
the holder of the license or registration by the district attorney or other public agency
pursuant to NRS 425.550 stating that the holder of the license or registration has complied
with the subpoena or warrant or has satisfied the arrearage pursuant to NRS 425.560.The
Board shall reinstate a license or registration issued pursuant to this chapter that has been
suspended by a district court pursuant to NRS 425.540 if the Board receives a letter issued by
the district attorney or other public agency pursuant to NRS 425.550 to the person whose
license or registration was suspended stating that the person whose license or registration was
suspended has complied with the subpoena or warrant or has satisfied the arrearage pursuant
to NRS 425.560.
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Investigation of Complaints

The Board may investigate the actions of any person holding or claiming to hold a license
and/or registration. The Board has the power of subpoena in any proceeding before the Board
pursuant to this chapter concerning the activity of an unlicensed person or unregistered
employee or discipline of a licensee or registered employee.

All complaints received by our office must be investigated. Please do not take offense if you
are contacted. Investigators are simply gathering all of the facts in an effort to resolve any
issues that may arise. Once all of the facts are gathered we will make a final determination as
to the validity of the complaint. Most situations can be handled within our office, however, on
occasion; the outcome of the investigation may lead to you being noticed to appear before the
Board.

Office Locations:

Southern Office Northern Office

3110 S. Durango Drive, Suite 203 400 W. King Street, Suite 101
Las Vegas, NV 89117 Carson City, NV 89703

& (702) 486-3003 & (775) 684-3125

(702) 486-3009 (775) 687-3226

Email: pilbinfo@pilb.nv.gov Email: pilbinfo@pilb.nv.gov
Note:

Please feel free to make copies of this booklet and disseminate as you wish. This booklet can
also be accessed on our website under the “Licensing” tab should you desire an electronic
version.

Website: http://pilb.nv.gov/

Established January 1, 2019
Last Revised April 23, 2024
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